Monday, December 07, 2009

2009 Nero Award and Black Orchid Novella Award

This past weekend, the The Wolfe Pack named the winner of The 2009 Nero Award: Joseph Teller, for The Tenth Case (Mira Books). The Nero Award is presented to an author for the best American Mystery written in the tradition of Rex Stout's Nero Wolfe stories. Past winners include Lawrence Block, Tess Gerritsen, Walter Mosley, Linda Fairstein, Martha Grimes, Laura Lippman, and Sharyn McCrumb.

The 2009 Black Orchid Novella Award went to Steve Liskow for his novella "The Strangle Hold." The Black Orchid Novella Award, presented jointly by The Wolfe Pack and Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, celebrates the novella format popularized by Rex Stout. (Details for entering the 2010 competition here.)

The awards were presented Dec 5 at the Black Orchid Banquet, held the first Saturday in December in New York City. The Wolfe Pack is a forum to discuss, explore, and enjoy the 72 Nero Wolfe books and novellas written by Rex Stout.
Post a Comment

Die Laughing: Funny Crime and Mystery Fiction


A woman with a complicated past returns home to become the small town's new sheriff. Best Mann For The Job is by the writer/artist team of Chris and Erica Well. Read it from the beginning at Watch the trailer on YouTube.