Friday, July 23, 2010

Still Kicking: 10 More Senior Sleuths

In honor of my new cozy mystery Nursing a Grudge, here are 10 more detectives all solving mysteries in their golden years. Click through for more information or complete lists of mysteries.

Still Kicking: 10 More Senior Sleuths

01 DRURY LANE by Ellery Queen
Shakespearean actor in his 60s who retired from the stage when he lost his hearing

02 DR. MARK SLOANE (Diagnosis: Murder) by Lee Goldberg
Medical doctor who solves crimes with the help of his son, homicide detective Steve Sloan

03 HENRIE O (Henrietta O'Dwyer Collins) by Carolyn Hart
Retired newswoman Henrietta O'Dwyer Collins

04 MRS. POLLIFAX by Dorothy Gilman
Grandma and CIA spy

05 HORACE RUMPOLE (Rumpole of the Bailey) by John Mortimer
Elderly London barrister and Old Bailey hack

06 MAXIE and STRETCH by Sue Henry
Alaskan widow Maxine McNab travels in her RV with her dachshund Stretch

07 MRS. JEFFRIES by Emily Brightwell
Housekeeper and widow who secretly helps Scotland Yard's Inspector Witherspoon solve his cases

08 MELITA PARGETER by Simon Brett
Burglar's widow who takes justice into her own hands with the help of her late husband's old gang

09 GEORGE & MOLLY PALMER-JONES by Ann Cleeves
British bird-watchers George Palmer-Jones and wife Molly

10 IVY MALONE by Lorena McCourtney
Senior citizen amateur sleuth

Nursing a Grudge (The Earl Walker Mysteries)Nursing a Grudge (The Earl Walker Mysteries)
With the nursing home about to close for good, can grumpy old man Earl Walker find a killer—and figure out his relationship with his new lady friend—before all the suspects move away? Nursing a Grudge is a "fair play" mystery—a light-hearted whodunit where the reader gets all the clues. For fans of Agatha Christie, Murder She Wrote, and M.C. Beaton.
Buy for Kindle
Buy for other eBook formats -- including NOOK, Kobo, and more

More detectives:
Retirement is Murder: 10 Senior Sleuths
10 Senior Sleuths on TV
150+ Mystery Series: 1841-2010
Murderous Beginnings: 40 Detective Fiction Firsts
All Aboard For Murder: 10 Mysteries on Trains
Christmas Can Be Murder: 10 Seasonal Mystery Titles
Spyglass Lane Mysteries under a dollar!
'Til Death: 10 Sleuth Couples
Post a Comment

Die Laughing: Funny Crime and Mystery Fiction

SHE'S THE SHERIFF!

A woman with a complicated past returns home to become the small town's new sheriff. Best Mann For The Job is by the writer/artist team of Chris and Erica Well. Read it from the beginning at StudioWell.com. Watch the trailer on YouTube.